BENDING CARDS

Another BENDING STEEL Blog

GET BENT: Inadvertent Legends

Posted by jadecanary on May 13, 2008

What do you mean “Kyle Abbot” is your legend?

Back in January, in the infancy of the Arkham Asylum forum, I challenged the players at Emerald City to build a deck for a tournament. The challenge was “Build-a-Legend”… times two. I called it Dynamic Duo. Instead of building one legend, under typical UDE rules, they would have to build two. If a player chose Superman and Batman as their legends, then cards like “At Their Finest” would count as one card each for each legends card pool of 12. We saw our share of World’s Finest and Fantastic Four, yada yada. But I discovered something else when building the decks I brought to the store.

The Inadvertent Legend.

What I’d call an Inadvertent Legend is a character with at least three different character cards, or character cards that refer to the chosen name and no non-character cards that have his/her/its name on it. Generally cards before characters got the legend treatment. I wouldn’t say that Superman or Spider-man are Inadvertent Legends, because there are so many cards with these characters names on them.

My first Dynamic Duo deck involved two Inadvertent Legends: Barbara Gordon and Dinah Laurel Lance. Oracle and Black Canary.

(From a January 20 reply on Arkham Asylum:

Way Too Many Copies of Two Characters

I had to see for myself when I tried to build a non-legend legend– Dynamic Duo style. Here is the build for “Crippled Nagging Bitches”.

4X Dinah Laurel Lance<>Black Canary, New Wings
4X Barbara Gordon<>Oracle, Data Broker
2x Gypsy, Illusionary Operative
4x Barbara Gordon<>Oracle, Hacker Elite
2x Oliver Queen<>Green Arrow, Bullseye
4X Dinah Laurel Lance<>Black Canary, “Pretty Bird”
2X Wonder Woman, Ambassador of Peace
4X Firestorm, The Nuclear Man
4X Dinah Laurel Lance<>Black Canary, Cry in the Dark
4X Barbara Gordon<>Oracle, Inside Information

4X The Hook-Up, Team-up
4X Hero’s Welcome
3X Battle Training
3X Crisis Averted
3X Atomize
3X Reform The League
4X Bat Got Your Tounge
3X Hall of Justice

…the first deck I’ve ever built with 61 cards.
34 characters, 24 filling up the legend spots. Sounds dangerous, huh? All I got to say is that I took down the Lex/Joker DDuo (probally cause he missed his 5 drop and he put cards in my hand, so I didn’t have to draw.))

I cleaned-up the deck a bit and ran it in the tournament. I didn’t win, but I made it work. CARD DRAW GALORE!

Today, while I was delivering the mail, I was thinking of rebuilding “Crippled Nagging Bitches” and tweaking it a little more, and then that’s when I started thinking about Inadvertent Legends.

Back in January, I was looking for alternative ideas for this tourney, in case a player came to the store that night without a deck for the game. I was flipping through my League of Assassins cards (’cause I just finished getting what I needed from DC Legends to start working on a deck) and discovered an Inadvertennt Legend. Kyle Abbot. Kyle has a 3-drop from DC Origins that wasn’t too terrible for his time. He recieved another 3-drop in the DC Batman vs League of Assassins Starter Set. But that is only two…

Cost: 1 Whisper A’Daire, Serpent-Tongued Seductress
Team: League of Assassins
ATK: 2
DEF: 1
Whisper A’Daire gets +1/+1 while you control a character named Kyle Abbot.He provides the strength. She provides the subtlety.
DBM-022 Illustrator: Stuart Sayger
Card is legal in: Golden Age, Random Punks
Common

That’s the first time I copied and pasted from docx VS search engine… pretty cool.

Whisper makes Kyle an Inadvertent Legend. THAT IS SO COOL!

While I was thinking about what to write in this article, I started thinking about, believe it or not, Crime Lords. I played with the Crime Lords for, like 5 minutes waaay back at the beginning of my VS days. I remember Mr. Hyde and some other guy… what’s his name. I think his card said Mr. Hyde on it. Oh docx…

 

Cost: 2 Cobra, Klaus Vorhees
Team: Crime Lords
ATK: 2
DEF: 2
When Cobra enters play, you may search your deck for a card named Mr. Hyde, reveal it, and put it into your hand.“I need a new partner . . . one who isn’t obsessed with Victorian horror novels.”
MMK-094 Illustrator: Rob Haynes
Card is legal in: Golden Age, Random Punks
Common

Mr. Hyde has both a Crime Lords and a Masters of Evil card, and Cobra makes him an Inadvertent Legend. How about that?

CHALLENGE TIME: I want you to look around your cards and pick somebody that falls into this catagory. Think about how you would build around this Legend. Remember: your choice shouldn’t be an army character, nor should it have a non-character card with his name on it, and it can either be the Barbara Gordon way (she has 6 character cards) or like Kyle Abbot and Mr. Hyde (a buddy card that makes them Legendrific). I’d like to hear your ideas. And if you do build something around you inadvertents, take it to your hobby league and then let me know how it played out.

5 Responses to “GET BENT: Inadvertent Legends”

  1. I’ll do you one better, sir! Not this week, but NEXT week’s Hobby League we’re going to do Dynamic Duos. My friends and I had a similar idea, so it only seems natural.

  2. sterofsteel said

    I can’t wait to hear about some of the unique dual legends and inadvertent legends your gang comes up with!

  3. Spider D said

    Well wouldnt Dove from the Teen Titans be one. there are multiple versions of her and Hawk names her.

  4. Quigonjon said

    Sweet Christmas! I’ll be bringing my Heroes for Hire Inadvertent Legend deck this Thursday- I think you’ll like it.

  5. sterofsteel said

    First of all: Spider D has a point. Hank Hall, and both Holly Grangers have Dawn Granger in their text. You could actually legend-out Dawn by only running Hawks (who would, though?)

    That’s what I’m talking about Jon!. By the way, Crippled Nagging Bitches are back, re-built and ready to go. I’ll put the decklist up here soon.

Leave a Reply

 
