BENDING CARDS

Another BENDING STEEL Blog

BENDING STEEL REVIEW: Death of the New Gods #8

Posted by jadecanary on April 27, 2008

Previously in “Death of the New Gods”…

The Source, the “god” of the New Gods, decided that it was time to end his fourth flawed creation, and give it anoher shot. Learning from the concept of the Infinity Man, a being created by the Forever People merging together, that mixing souls of the gods amp up there power. So the Source’s idea was to collect the souls of the residents of New Genesis and Apokolips, mix them up, and make new, new gods to populate his fifth world.

Darkseid didn’t agree.

After the death of Mr. Miracle, the Source had merged with his “bad half”, the Anti-Life, And took care of all his business, save for Darkseid. So he heads off for Apokolips to finish up.

Darkseid still didn’t agree.

So Darkseid and the Source start to fight, and the Source becomes a little worried. You see, Darkseid knew what the Source was up to and started tapping into the collected souls of the New Gods. He had become the Source’s equal. Darkseid decides to imprison the gods god, so that he could continue to tap this power.

But the Source didn’t agree.

“There was something in the air I found disquieting. And though I could not pinpoint this subtile disturbance’s cause… I took a certain precautionary measure. Darkseid, meet my fallback position. Orion.”

Darkseid and Orion fight. Then Darkseid bolts for parts unknown (see Countdown #2). The Source then slams Apokolips and New Genesis together and calls the new planet form by the two the Fifth World. And then it’s over.

What the hell was that?

A several months back, I had read an interview with Jim Starlin about “Death of the New Gods”. I was soooo freaking excited. For years, writers have had their shot at Jack Kirby’s New Gods, only to leave it statis quo. It seemed that each creator was scared to change, alter or skew the vision of the legendary Jack Kirby. And that’s why any book featuring the New Gods sucked.

Death wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. The story features a number of gods standing around and postulating, “Who’s killing us?” It featured Darkseid sitting on his bum and telling Metron, Superman and Mr. Miracle, “I know something you don’t know!”. I felt there was so little action. Hell, the fight between Orion and The Source was just a big blast of light. That’s it.

Then Darkseid fought The Source. I have been waiting for this book with bated breath for a month. The final battle. And it read like to kids in a playground arguing which one of them is more powerful in their imagination.

“I’ve got all the souls of the gods, I’m gonna get you too.”

“No you’re not, cause I’ve stolen your god souls and now I’m more powerful then you. I’m gonna make you my prisoner.”

“Nuh-uhh! You didn’t get all the souls. I have Orion and cause he’s your son he has all the powers you got!”

“I’m not playing anymore.”

I have to say this, I didn’t feel the continuity between this book and Countdown to Final Crisis. Darkseid has been playing games with Solomon the Monitor and Darkseid’s Elite have been screwing around with the heroes of the Countdown. None of this played a part in the Death. And the final battle between Darkseid and Orion seemed forced into Countdown. It looked to me like the intention was for Starlin to finish the mass murdering in Death but the decision was taken out of his hands. Seeing how Countdown ended, it need some sort of climax.

BENDING STEEL REVIEW: The gods are dead. There is no getting back to Kirby from here. For that, I’ll give you a couple of points. Other than that, the lack of DC Universal continuity (I blame Dini nad Didio), The fact that most of the Gods stood around and waited to die weakened this book. But at least Orion killed Darkseid. But that happened in another book.

Death of the New Gods #8: 2/5, The entire miniseries: 2/5

PICK OF THE WEEK: Batman #675

“Bruce Wayne is Batman.”

Oh Bruce. The prolouge to Batman RIP was good, very good. Bruce Wayne goes out with his girlfriend and she proceeds to rip (no pun intended) into him…

“…why do I feel as though all I ever see is…is the mask of a man, Bruce? Yes, you’re witty and charming and clever, but underneath there’s something deep and dark and terrible, isn’t there? Something you can’t bring yourself to say or tell me. …there’s something underneath that wit and charm…something so cruel.”

“Are you into S&M, Bruce?”

BWAH-HA-HA-HA! I love it!. Grant Morrison has had a crazy run on this book, and expect Batman RIP to contune to amaze. 5/5

Leave a Reply

 
